Building java projects on runcoderun.com

26 01 2010

RunCodeRun is a hosted Continuous integration environment developed by Relevance. Thanks to the Relevance team and their effort to provide this service free for opensource projects.

I wanted to build rapa on RunCodeRun. I was trying to setup my project on RunCodeRun using instructions in a blog post. It is a very useful blog and easy to follow. But I was having trouble getting code to compile on runcoderun box. Here are the problems and their solutions.

I guess there is no real jdk on runcoderun, so my compile task on ant would not work.

I checked in tools.jar as a part of my project libraries. Then I added it as part of the classpath when invoking ant from rake.

classpath = [File.join(".","lib","ant.jar"), File.join(".","lib","tools.jar"), File.join(".","lib","junit.jar"), File.join(".","lib","ant-junit.jar"), File.join(".","lib","ant-launcher.jar")].join(File::PATH_SEPARATOR)
system "java -cp #{classpath} org.apache.tools.ant.Main -emacs dist"

Even after I fixed that the build would always go green even if there was failure from ant

I guess the exit status returned by rake was always zero irrespective of what ant returned. I changed the rakefile as shown below.

system "java -cp #{classpath} org.apache.tools.ant.Main -emacs dist"
exit $?.exitstatus

This seemed to fix all the issues with the build.

Along with these issues I was also facing an issue with ant-junit task with junit 4. Basically standard distribution of ant does not understand the annotations of junit4 and requires the test class to extend TestCase. I had to checkout the latest source from ant subversion trunk and build it. I am currently using these jars.

Have a look at the project in github.

http://github.com/harikrishnan83/rapa

Continuous integration on.

http://runcoderun.com/harikrishnan83/rapa

Actions

Information

One response

28 09 2012
Hayley

I like the helpful information you supply on your articles.
I’ll bookmark your blog and check once more right here regularly. I’m moderately sure I’ll be told many new stuff right right here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

